Day 418 – When Do I Tell the Folks, I Haven’t a Jobbie Job?

27 03 2008

At what point does one tell ones folks that they are unemployed? Here I am, day 418, and I have been fully employed throughout that entire time. The only tickler being, the folks are unaware. This is for their own good. This is so I don’t get railed with 8,241 line-drive questions every time I talk to them. I can enjoy that stuff while on an interview! This is so I can talk to them. It not about being dishonest. Nor, is it about profound trickery. It’s about having a healthy, long distance relationship. Without relaying this one fun fact – I am unemployed, I can hold onto that, and that’s why it’s worth it.

The unemployed are somehow detached from society.  Even a crappy job is better than no job – society seems exhibit. Everyone wants to know more about you finding a job more than the actual job once you finally find it. This is a hindrance. This is why I always tell people that I just meet that I’ve got a great job. (The job previously got laid off from. ) I might go into something similar to “Just had my two year review – nailed it – 5% pay increase starting next paycheck! This is the way it is. This is how it must be.

Of course, close friends will always know the scoop. There’s no need hiding it from them.

So, when do I tell the folks, I haven’t a jobbie job? About six month in to my next job, but then it’s in the tune of “hey mom n pops, I got a new jobbie job!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

